How We Are Organized

Charge Conference:

Within our local Church is the charge conference. The Church Conference is the basic unit in our connectional structure. The primary responsibilities of the charge conference in the annual meeting shall be to review and evaluate the total mission and ministry of the church, receive reports, and adopt objectives and goals recommended by the church council that are in keeping with the objectives of The United Methodist Church. Our Charges consist of one or two organized churches.

Annual Conference:

An annual conference is our regional body that governs much of the life of the “connectional church”.Annual conferences are composed primarily of the clergy members and a lay member or members from each charge. Each conference is a geographical division. The annual conference is the primary unit of the Church government. Regional groups of conferences within Nigeria and West Africa make up the West Africa Central Conferences.. Each charge conference elects as many lay members to the annual conference as they have ministers appointed to that charge.

West Africa Central Conference:

The Four Annual Conferences of the Nigeria Episcopal Area is part of the West Africa Central Conference. This is one of the regional body of the Church in Africa. The West Africa Central Conference Comprises of:

  • Liberia Episcopal Area: Led by Bishop Samuel Quire Jr.
    • Liberia Annual Conference
  • Nigeria Episcopal Area Bishop John Wesley Yohanna
    • Southern Nigeria Annual Conference
    • Central Nigeria Annual Conference
    • Northern Nigeria Annual Conference
    • North East Nigeria Annual Conference
  • Sierra Leone Episcopal Area: Bishop John Yambasu
    • Sierra Leone Annual Conference
  • Cote d’Ivoire Episcopal Area: Bishop Benjamin Boni
    • Côte d’Ivoire Annual Conference

UMC Agencies:
General Board of Church and Society (GBCS)
General Board of Global Ministries (GBGM)
General Commission on Archives and History (GCAH)
Office of Christian Unity and Interreligious Relationships (OCUIR)
General Commission on Religion and Race (GCORR)
Discipleship Ministries (GBOD)
General Board of Higher Education and Ministry (GBHEM)
Wespath Benefits & Investments (formerly: General Board of Pensions and Health Benefits [GBOPHB])
General Commission on Communication (UMCom)
General Commission on the Status and Role of Women (COSROW)
General Commission on United Methodist Men (GCUMM)
General Council on Finance and Administration (GCFA)
United Methodist Publishing House (UMPH)